Dr. Oliver Nickel - SWELL - Frische Energie für Marken

Oliver Nickel is one of the best-known brand consultants in Germany. He studied industrial engineering at Karlsruhe University and then received his doctorate at the Institute for Consumer & Behavioural Research under Werner Kroeber-Riel at Saarland University. 

What many saw as an unusual step into the marketing world made complete sense to him, because when creating brands, emotions and empathy for the consumer need to be combined with tangible products and services in a meaningful way.

 

Oliver has 25 years of brand consultancy experience, ten of which he was managing director of an international brand research company. Over this time he worked with large, international players and medium-sized companies, as well as smaller owner-managed family businesses. He gathered extensive experience with brands in the areas of food & packaged goods, beer, home & living, automotive & mobility as well as industry & technology.

 

He is an acknowledged expert, as evidenced through over 100 conference lectures he’s delivered and more than 50 articles he’s written for textbooks and trade/specialised magazines.

 

Oliver is an Innovation Game Facilitator and works using Design Thinking methods. He is a member of the board of trustees of the Gesellschaft zur Erforschung des Markenwesens (G.E.M.) - the association for the research of brands -, and up to this point he has been appointed to 20 lectureships in German marketing faculties. He currently teaches at Pforzheim University (brands and innovation research), FAU Nuremberg-Erlangen University (brand management), and in 2012 he was appointed as senior lecturer (brand management) at EBS Executive Education in Oestrich-Winkel.

 

Together with the Markenverband (The German Brands Federation) in Berlin and the EBS Business School, he established the now famous MARKENAKADEMIE. Since 2009 he has been a director at the MARKENAKADEMIE, passionate about the idea of an innovative platform for education for young brand managers who live/love brands.

 

 

When not working for SWELL, he spends his time with his family, fixing up classic cars, windsurfing and collecting slang phrases from his home town of Hagen, to which he dedicated his own slang phrasebook in 2008.

Dr. Oliver Nickel

Dr. Oliver Nickel - SWELL - Frische Energie für Marken

ABOUT

Oliver Nickel ist einer der bekanntesten Markenberater in Deutschland. Er studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der Universität (TH) Karlsruhe und promovierte anschließend am Institut für Konsum- und Verhaltensforschung unter Werner Kroeber-Riel an der Universität des Saarlandes.

Was für viele nach einem außergewöhnlichen Schritt aussieht, macht für ihn absolut Sinn, denn "Emotionen und Empathie für den Verbraucher" müssen beim Gestalten von Marken sinngebend mit "begreifbaren Produkten und Leistungen" zusammenkommen.  

 

Oliver hat über 25 Jahre Markenberatungserfahrung, davon über zehn Jahre als Geschäftsführer in einem internationalen Markenforschungsunternehmen. In dieser Zeit war er sowohl für internationale Konzerne als auch für mittelständisch geprägte Unternehmen und für inhabergeführte kleinere Familienunternehmen tätig. Und sammelte dabei umfangreiche Erfahrung mit Marken aus den Bereichen Food & Packaged Goods, Bier, Home & Living, Automotive & Mobility sowie Industrie & Technologie.

 

Er ist ein gefragter Experte, was über 100 Vorträge auf Fachkonferenzen und über 50 Beiträge in Fachbüchern und Fachzeitschriften dokumentieren.

 

Oliver ist Innovation Game Facilitator und arbeitet nach Design Thinking Methoden. Er ist Kuratoriumsmitglied der G.E.M. (Gesellschaft zur Erforschung des Markenwesens) und erhielt bislang 20 Lehraufträge an deutschen Marketingfakultäten. Aktuell lehrt er an der Hochschule Pforzheim (Marken- und Innovationsforschung), an der Universität Nürnberg-Erlangen (Markenmanagement) und wurde 2012 zum Senior Lecturer (Brand Management) an der EBS Executive Education in Oestrich-Winkel ernannt.

 
Gemeinsam mit dem Markenverband in Berlin und der EBS Business School konzipierte er die inzwischen renommierte MARKENAKADEMIE. Seit 2009 engagiert er sich dort als Studienleiter leidenschaftlich für die Idee einer innovativen Weiterbildungsplattform für junge Brand-Manager, die Marken l(i)eben.

 

Die Zeit außerhalb von SWELL gilt seiner Familie, dem Schrauben am Oldtimer, dem Windsurfen, und dem Sammeln von Slang-Begriffen aus seiner Heimatstadt Hagen, der er 2008 ein eigenes Slang-Wörterbuch gewidmet hat.

Dr. Oliver Nickel